//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

#DecemberReflections

For the past 30 days I’ve been part of #decemberreflections  …..

Believe.jpg

… a community project that has no real rules –  the idea is to simply take a photograph every day(ish) for the whole of December.That’s it. Pause, look around you and shoot what you see. Reflect on how the year’s gone down. Enjoy a bit of mindful creativity and community in the run up to the new year.
You can use any camera. You could shoot every day or every other day or just on weekends. You can share your photos or just enjoy taking them without sharing. You can follow along with the prompts or just do your own thing. You can join in at any time..

And I’ve really enjoyed it.  It was one of those ‘moments’ where I’d seen a couple of Instagram friends do it on the 1st December and, after following the hashtag #decemberreflections, realised a swathe of IG-ers were doing this group thang and thought ‘why not?’.

I have many faults and one of them is having a great idea, becoming wildly excited about it to begin with but the minute an obstacle finds its way into my already chokka-obstacle-filled brain, stepping back and letting it dwindle into the ether.  Which is all a bit of a vicious circle because then I hate myself for having given up and believe that I am, actually, the rubbish person I was brought up being led to believe… this, my counsellor tells me, is the reinforcement of my Bottom Line and one which we are both working towards changing.  The fact that I realise now what it is, helps with this alteration of mindset.

So, when I met a prompt which I had absolutely no idea how to interpret into image, I did feel the usual slump of despondency and thought ‘ah well, I gave it a shot, who would care if I didn’t post a picture for this day anyway?’ – and the resounding reply?  ME!  I would care very much thank you!  So I battled the demons back and blimmin’ well found something.  The prompt was ‘shadows’ and it being bleak mid-December, not a great deal of sun about to cast shadows, I was mulling and pondering when I glanced at my glasses resting next to a cup of tea.  Lo, as they say, a shadow was cast about them.  And an image was taken.

An image which got loads of ‘likes’ or ‘hearts’ or whatever it is that Instagram has.  And these are encouraging.  I’m easily bolstered by a like in whichever form it takes, and this encouraged me to continue with the remainder of the month, interpreting the prompts in whichever fashion I deemed suitable.  yesterday’s prompt was ‘My word for 2016’ and I made a little image myself using the central character from the Disney movie ‘Brave’ as my backdrop.  It really is my word for 2016.  If I ever think I can’t do something, or can’t be something or one of my ghostly voices tells me I’m a chump for even imagining I can, then I will call  up this image in my head and *BELIEVE* anything is possible.  Because it probably is 😉

About debscooper

I read, I write, I tweet, I blog and I avoid housework whenever I can.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

#amreading

I tweet-twoo

